Marine Corrosion Club logo


Minutes of the General Meeting held at The Palm Court Hotel, Aberdeen, in conjunction with ICorr, Aberdeen branch, on Tuesday, 7th April 2009.  


Robin Oakley (MCF Chairman) – QinetiQ
Phil Dent (MCF Vice-Chairman) – Bodycote
Robin Jacob - (Committee) Corrosion Consultancy
Barry Torrance – (Committee) Aish Technologies
Jean Tuck – (Committee) MCF Secretariat
Adesiji Anjorin - Lloyd’s Register EMEA
Charlie Barraclough – Commtech Associates
John Baynham – CM BEASY
Sue Cushnaghan - Shell
Ross Fielding – Impalloy
Tony Gerrard – BAC Corrosion Control Ltd
Dennis Greaves – MoD
Ian Hamilton – Aker Solutions
David Hillis – Total E&P UK
Malcolm Howden - Aker Solutions
Jing Li – Clyde Pumps

Shukun Liu - Lloyd’s Register EMEA
Qing Lu – TWI
Tony Mann - Aker Solutions
Steve Paterson – Shell
Carol Powell – CDA
Andrew Ritchie - Aker Solutions
Bernd Sagebiel - KME-Germany AG
Alistair Seton – CAPCIS
Vicky Shu – Shell
Klaus Steinkamp – KME-Germany AG
Paul Sykes – Langley Alloys
Alastair Tawns – Aker Solutions
Yi Xiang Wang – Lloyd’s Register EMEA
Martin Watt - Aker Solutions
Richard Waud – Aker Solutions
Mike Wilson – BAE Systems


Lian Ling Beh – Oceaneering International Services
Frances Blackburn – ConocoPhillips
Jonathan Cohen - Gemini Corrosion Services Ltd
Adetutu Fapahunda – ConocoPhillips
John Grubb – ATI-Allegheny Ludlum
Xinming Hu – University of Leeds
Nasir Khattak – Oceaneering
Emmanuel Marcus – Germanischer Lloyd
Abdelkader Mekki – Germanischer Lloyd
John Middleton – Tuscan Corrosion Control
Leah Middleton - Tuscan Corrosion Control
Mike Moffat – CorrPro
Eugene Ogosi – DNV
Mike Pursell - Mike Pursell Consultant Engineer Ltd
Muhammed Santuraki – Bureau Veritas
Dawn Simpson – iicorr
Mike Swidzinski – ConocoPhillips
Yee Chin Tang – DNV
Mark Wilson – iicorr


Peter Cutler – NI
Richard Edwards – CCSL
Ben Hooker (Committee) – Babcock Marine
Jagath Mawella – MoD
Keith Stokes - DSTL

Clive Tuck (Committee) – Lloyd’s Register
Julian Wharton (Committee) – University of Southampton
Robert Wood – University of Southampton
Brian Wyatt, - Corrosion Control
Jian-Zhong Zhang - LR

The Chairman (Robin Oakley) opened the meeting.  


1.1  ‘Corrosion Testing in Support of Marine Applications’, Robin Oakley, QinetiQ


2.1   Charlie Barraclough (Commtech Associates) asked for any advice on materials selection of bolts for NAB valves (buried in wet salty sand) without CP; he'd been surprised to find that many valve manufacturers use galvanised steel!  Robin Oakley recommended various forms of high strength CuNi materials or strain hardened Nickel aluminium bronzes of suitable strength; alternatively some of the superalloys might be suitable as the surface area of the bronze would be much larger than the valve body surface area.


3.1  'Corrosion Resistant Alloys for Oil & Gas Engineering Applications', John Grubb, ATI-Allegheny Ludlum

3.2  'CP on Offshore Wind Farms’, Ross Fielding, Impalloy

3.3 ‘Erosion Corrosion Performance and Prediction for Marine Alloys’, Xinming Hu, University of Leeds

3.4 'A Material Specification Rationalisation Process’, Ian Hamilton, Aker Solutions

The Chairman closed the meeting at approx. 4:30 pm  


The meeting was followed by a meeting of ICorr, Aberdeen branch:-

‘Reducing the Threat from Hydrogen Induced Cracking in Carbon Steel’, Steve Paterson, 
Shell Exploration & Production Europe

MCF home page