Marine Corrosion Club logo


Minutes of the General Meeting held at The Palm Court Hotel, Aberdeen, in conjunction with ICorr, Aberdeen branch, on Tuesday, 21st April 2015.  



Gary Masters (Vice-Chairman) – E.ON Technologies (Ratcliffe) Ltd
Robin Jacob - CP Consultancy
Pat Stokes – MACAW Engineering Ltd
Jean Tuck – MCF Secretariat

Members & Guests

Henrik Andersen – Shell UK Ltd
Ufuoma Kevin Arhagba – RG University (student)
Andrew Arnold – BAC Corrosion Control Ltd
Laura Barclay – GE Oil & Gas
John Baynham – BEASY
Simon Bocock – BP (non-ICorr)
Michael Bryant – University of Leeds
Geoff Camm - Deepwater EU Ltd
Kim Chua - Exova
Muhammed Ejaz – LR-Senergy (ICorr)
Ross Fielding – Impalloy
Tim Froome – BEASY
Dave Gibson – Proserv (ICorr)
Chris Googan – Anticorrosion Engineering Ltd (ICorr)
Stuart Hamilton – LR EMEA
Steve Hankins – Deepwater EU Ltd
David Hillis – Total E&P UK
Richard Itiat – GE Oil & Gas
Mark Jackson – Blue Nimbus (non ICorr)

Ajinkya Joshi – LR EMEA
Xiuqing Li - Heatric
Mike Moffat - CorrPro
Billy Morrison – Wood Group Kenny (ICorr)
Graeme Morrison - Highland Galvanizers (non-ICorr)
Angela Newsam – RG University (student)
Ik Nzelu – Subsea7 (ICorr)
Trevor Osbourne – Deepwater Corrosion Services
Nigel Owen – Aberdeen Foundries (ICorr)
Dennis Parr – MACAW Engineering Ltd
Kevin Paterson – Deepwater EU Ltd
Tim Queen – Deepwater EU Ltd
Hyung Yoon Roh – Technip UK (non ICorr)
Zsolt Ronafalvi – CorrPro
Jonathan Segynola – Can Offshore (ICorr)
Alistair Seton – Genesis Ltd (ICorr)
Derek Sharp - Exova
Jonathan Smuga - Exova
Jozef Soltis – MACAW Engineering Ltd
Hassan Syed – Wood Group Kenny (non ICorr)
Alan Temple – BP (non-ICorr)
Ethem Tug – Subsea7 (ICorr)
Rowan Vaduganathan – Oceaneering International (ICorr)
Andrew Willis – Aquatec (ICorr)


Charlie Barraclough – Commtech
Phil Dent (Chairman) – Exova
Steve Ellis – Cathelco
Akin Fajimi – NeoNickel
William Farnell – Langley Alloys
Roger Francis – RF Materials
Dean Haley - MoD
Graham Hill – ECHA Microbiology
Christos Kapsalis – KME Germany Gmbh & Co KG
Aneel Mumtaz - Cathelco
Robin Oakley (Committee) – QinetiQ
Richard Perkins – Aish Technologies

Helen Peterson - MoD
Carol Powell (Committee) - CDA & NI
Jim Preston – Corrosion Prevention
Ivan Richardson – Copper Alloys
Tony Staines – Langley Alloys
Keith Stokes - DSTL
Clive Tuck (Committee) – LR EMEA
Ben Turner – Copper Alloys
Nigel Ward – NI
Gareth Williams – ECHA Microbiology
Mike Wilson – BAE Systems
Brian Wyatt (Committee) - Corrosion Control

The MCF Vice-Chairman, Gary Masters (E.ON), opened the meeting.  


1.1    ‘External Corrosion Control of Submerged and Buried Pipelines by means of Coatings and CP’, Trevor Osborne, Immediate Past President ICorr & Deepwater Corrosion Services

1.2    ‘Galvanic Anodes – Boring? Easy?’, Ross Fielding, Impalloy

1.3    ‘The Links between Subsurface Deformation and Tribocorrosion Performance of Stainless Steels in CO2 Environments', Michael Bryant, University of Leeds


2.1 Pat Stokes (MACAW Engineering) gave the following details of a meeting he felt would be of interest:

ICorr / NACE UK section are holding a Workshop on Knowledge Transfer - Corrosion Matters on the 10th -11th June 2015 in London. Workshops will be discursive / interactive and focus on transfer of corrosion knowledge and best practices across industries for shared benefit.

The 4 session chairs, Mike Surkein (Exxonmobil), Andy Duncan (Intertek), Don Harrop (Independent) and Alyn Jenkins (MI Swaco) are all internationally recognised as leaders in their fields.

More info can be found at and, or contact ICorr at [email protected], +44(0) 1604 893883.


3.1  ‘Materials for Seawater Applications: PREN as a Selection Criteria’, Jozef Soltis, MACAW Engineering

3.2   ‘Destructive Interference in Cathodic Protection: Examples Identified through Simulation’, John Baynham, CM BEASY

The Chairman closed the meeting at approx. 4:40 pm  


The meeting was followed by a meeting of ICorr, Aberdeen branch:-

‘Cathodic Protection - Some Engineering Misconceptions’, Chris Googan, Anticorrosion Engineering Limited

MCF home page